Edrica Huws

We have sold our house a few months ago and now we are in the process of packing before moving into rented accommodation whilst waiting for the perfect house to come along. This morning I was clearing yet another shelf of books and came across Erica Huws Patchworks.  I bought this book at the exhibition of her work at the primary school in Llangefni – Oriel Ynys Mon was being refurbished at the time.  I remember the day because I was in a applique workshop with Gwenfai Rhys all day in the very room the exhibition was held in.  I had plenty of time to study the original patchwork of this talented artist.  I remember looking closely at them and found that the stitching was not perfect like patchwork, I could see the stitches but stepping back they were like paintings.  Her work was so cleverly done.  Why would she spend so many hours stitching away when she had attended the famous Chelsea School of Art and Royal College of Art and studied painting. Her answer was because she enjoyed it.  Her work was in textiles but I think the end product was art.

Here are a few of her patchwork pieces which I enjoyed.

About jan

Hello Welcome to my little corner, so nice to see you. My name is Jan and I am happily married with three children and two grandchildren. I also have two cats I live on the beautiful Isle of Anglesey in North Wales. I work part-time in a library which I enjoy. I love creating any kind of textile work, baking and am into family history. I am studying a Foundation Degree in Art & Design at a local college. I will keep you posted on my progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment